I Planned My 30th Birthday Photo Shoot — My experience & lessons

Winnie Rabera
9 min readFeb 15, 2020

I have never done a photoshoot before — I mean I have never actively planned for one in my adult age. Sure, the photo albums and those on the wall in our family home tell a different story. One that says we have been to studios a couple of times, at different stages and ages of our lives, when we were just 4 kids. When we were 5 of us, the entire family, my parents alone, the girls alone and so on and so forth. But me, by myself? This was going to be the first.

I love celebrating my birthdays and 2020 was not going to be any different. I thought to myself, a whole decade is over and I am turning a new year , I am turning 30 or 3rd floor as Kenyans on Twitter #KOT would famously call it. What do I want to do for my birthday? That’s a question I have always asked myself throughout my 20s but I became more intentional about voicing my wishes when I was 27. I want to go for dinner in a restaurant I have never been to, I want to have a cake I have never tasted before, I want to buy myself a new dress, a book and so on.

Planning for the shoot

My friend Fridah had a baby bump photoshoot in August 2019 and I happened to be there as supporting crew — helping with the change of clothes, wearing shoes, moving from one location to the next (it was an outdoor shoot). After her shoot, I thought to myself, how exhausting but also, how wonderful to have such amazing photos. Fast forward November 2019, my dad was celebrating his 60th birthday and my younger brother Tim made a video compilation with his memories for the last 6 decades. I loved it and the idea of having a photo shoot for a new decade began to linger in my head.

I created a pinterest board titled ‘30th birthday photoshoot’. Those who have the pinterest application know how a rabbit hole it can be but also how useful it is when you want to get into ideas of different things and inspiration. I got tonnes of inspiration and soon enough I began running the idea by my friends and acquaintances. I realized when you begin to voice your plans, you begin to actively plan to implement them and also you get tonnes of feedback from people which makes everything so much easier in the end.

A screenshot of some of the pins on my pinterest board

From the pinterest suggestions it was clear, I needed a white dress and number balloons for 3 and 0. They were popular images across pinterest. Of course they were photos of women celebrating their 30th birthday with a shoot. I shared with a couple of friends and acquaintances this idea — of course it sounded grand. You know how you are surrounded by people who would gas you up? That was my experience as I planned this shoot. Frankly speaking without their enthusiasm to get through with this I would have given up.

My introspective self couldn’t fail to note how important it is to have friends who value your aspirations- even if those aspirations are something as vain as doing a solo birthday photoshoot.

A white dress inspired by the pinterest boards

Maggie took me to go shopping for some of the outfits, Salome gave me ideas about the clothes combination, in fact the saree idea was hers. She also got me shoes. Charlene was available for consultation on clothes combination and gave me cheerleading energy. Alex was enthusiastic about me modelling the clothes before D-day and also got me a t-shirt that had the mood for the shoot “ Queens are born in February”. . Nancy got me the balloons from Amazon when she travelled. Ivy ,Gloria and Dorcas were cheerleaders par excellence listening to my vanity plans almost daily. My sisters Terry and Felly were ready for the outcome as they cheered me on. It was a whole battalion of bubbly energy. Fridah was ecstatic, she sent me Jaylo’s phone number. Jaylo as she is popularly known to her friends is the photographer of Kamanda Dyanasty photography.

In between all these I had to find time to make my hair, which was wonderfully done by Kevin aka Kevoh of Piteris Salon in Thika. He has been my hairdresser for the last one year or so, always creative when it comes to styling my dreadlocks (which is what I like most about him). I got my nails done in the same salon. I went to get my eyebrows threaded at a random salon in the world business centre along Tom Mboya street, Nairobi. The randomness of this scared me but it turned out great. Finally I got a variety of accessories for the outfits from various shops along Dubois Street in Nairobi. I was now ready for the shoot. Or so I thought?

Pro tip- do these things earlier to ease up on the tension and write a to-do list.

Studio Choice

After scouting around for other studios from December I settled for Kamanda Dyanasty photography studio.

What guided my choice was her swift response when I inquired about their packages. I had been calling other studios, sending them messages on facebook but to no avail. The flexibility to respond over WhatsApp was also a plus for me as I was able to clarify things easily. My observation of Jaylo during Fridah’s photoshoot was that she has a creative edge, she makes you comfortable, she is patient and helps you to not feel bad about your lack of style when it comes to posing (this is describing ME). She also has a makeup artist that she works with whose work I loved and was willing to try. I considered that if she is the artist she has been working with it’s definitely a plus. The makeup artist for the shoot was Grace aka @shades_of_beauty_1 on Instagram.

The Photoshoot

Since my birthday was on 11th February, a Tuesday I decided to do the shoots a few days before. This was to allow for preparation and adequate time for editing the photos. I had asked Nancy, my bestie and my sisters to come along but unfortunately my sisters couldn’t make it. So it was just me and Nancy. The night before I slept over in Nancy’s house. I was so anxious and exhausted as I had spent the better part of my day in hospital visiting a friend who was unwell. I almost thought I would not make it the next day. Worse still, we realized the number balloons needed to be pumped and we had no idea where to start. It was 9pm at night. A few phone calls here and there and finally we settled with we are going to do it tomorrow morning at Sarit Center. The shoot was to begin at 10:30 am on Sunday. I didn’t sleep well but I knew its the anxiety of how everything is going to turn out.

Kamanda Dyanasty photography is located opposite Sarit Centre, and we arrived there a few minutes to 10:30am. I had texted Jaylo the previous night fretting about my balloons — in between apologizing for texting her late at night so when we arrived she quickly offered to go with Nancy to a party shop in Sarit to get the balloons pumped with air. I had also forgotten to carry safety pins for the saree outfit so I told them to buy some. I was left with Grace to begin the make-up process. Grace is very chatty and would put you at ease with her random stories. But even more she had the brief — it was a birthday shoot and she went on to do her magic. The previous day my mum’s friend had joked about me putting eyelashes and I dismissed the idea as not part of the plans. Little did I know part of what Grace’s magic entails is having eye-lashes. What I loved about the outcome of this look was I didn’t have an idea of what I wanted, mostly because I don’t use make-up often so I don’t have the confidence to decide or comment on a desired look; but it turned out to be very gorgeous and glamorous.

The randomness, the kindness, the glamour , the poses

When Jaylo and Nancy came back , with the balloons in hand, safety pins and some sugary snacks , my make-up was done and I was ready for the MAIN act. Of course I had an idea of what outfits I wanted to start with, but Jaylo already had her eyes on my outfit — the one I was wearing. She called it “testing the camera”. It turned out to be a whole outfit shoot. As Jaylo’s sister , Pesh, who was the assistant photographer constantly quipped “ every moment is a photo shoot moment”. Indeed throughout the shoot, Pesh and Jaylo were so well coordinated and had so many random ideas that were not part of my grand plan.

Black outfit that was not part of my grand photo shoot plan

I had 8 outfits and 7pairs of shoes to choose from and out of those there were those I was sure will be in the shoot but it turned out different. One particular one was this photo where I am with a red travel bag which I had used to carry the outfits. Jaylo saw it and she quickly said we are taking a couple of shots with that. It went with a t-shirt. I wasn’t sure how to pair it , she gladly guided me on what to do.

The red bag became a prop in the shoot

From the time we arrived at the studio , there were numerous moments of kind acts that made me so grateful. At the party shop in Sarit centre the attendants offered to pump the air in the balloons for free. In between the change of outfits, we realized that nobody in the studio knew how to tie a saree (an indian traditional outfit). Jaylo quickly remembered that there are some Indians who live in the neighbourhood. She requested one who was actually on her way out with her two young children to help us tie. She agreed to do it as her children impatiently waited for her. I was so grateful for her kindness — because evidently without her expertise , either we would fumble with it or I would have to choose another outfit. And the shots for this outfit came out so beautifully, I am still in awe. Nancy didn’t particularly expect to be there for that long , we started the shoot at 10:30am and it ended at around 1:30pm, her patience and support was so important including holding up the clothes for me in between the change of outfits so that I don’t smudge my make-up, reminding me to eat some oreo biscuits for the energy, I was grateful for it all.

One of the shots with the saree outfit

After the shoot I was exhausted, hungry but very pleased with myself for getting through with this grand plan. I went back to hospital and my mum’s friend was so amused that I actually got the lashes on. She told her daughter , who was unwell, that she should get this done once in her lifetime. Did I inspire ? I don’t know — all I know is so many people loved the photos after I shared them on my various social media accounts. I loved them too — and am still admiring them, everyday.

A happy 30th to me!

--

--

Winnie Rabera

Educator|| Social and internet Justice enthusiast||Multidisciplinary scholar||- Currently churning out knowledge in occupational health|| Mozilla contributor.